paint chip pop art

paint chip artThere are some very creative people out there making things with sample paint chips– the ones you get for free at the hardware store– which always reminded me of the insanely expensive box of colored papers called Color-aid I had to buy for the Color Theory class I I took in college. Color-aid sheets are thick paper with a coating of matte color on one side, not unlike over-sized paint sample chips. There was a lot of meticulous cutting and tedious pasting involved in the projects for that class, but it was and still is the best class I have ever taken and I still have a few of my old projects hanging around.

If you’re interested in seeing some great projects, or looking for inspiration for your own Pinterest has some good examples. My favorites are the ones that transform the paint chip from it’s humble beginning as color sample to fine art.

color theory, circa 2000

Untitled color theory project by me, circa 2000

 

Leave a Reply

