on letting go

I’m not exactly one to hold a grudge, but I’m not great at letting things “go” either, things affect me… deeply. I really don’t think it’s a bad thing, but it doesn’t make life easy. About six years ago, I interviewed for job at an art museum. I couldn’t believe I had gotten an interview in the first place, this was amazing! But, alas, I didn’t get it and at the time, it was pretty crushing. I had just left a job – willingly – because it didn’t feel right for me (I was younger and could afford such a luxury then), so for this perfect job that appeared at the perfect time to reject me was quite a blow.

Yesterday I visited the museum for the first time since that interview. It was still the gorgeous building that I remembered, but as I walked through the galleries and grounds I realized I really wouldn’t have been happy working there. After all these years of lamenting over lost opportunity I could now see with clarity that losing the job was the true opportunity, and I’m really no worse for the wear, in fact–I might even be better off.

Leave a Reply

