upside down/right side up

the cow painting, 8x10

We did something crazy for our last class of the session this week… we painted upside-down! No, not standing on our heads, we were right-side-up, but we painted from photos that were turned upside-down. And I think everyone in that class will forever be painting from photos that are upside-down, from now on. The results were tremendous! It pushed you to really see in shape, color and value. I think I may go back into my cow and touch her up a bit, but I wasn’t expecting my painting to actually look like a cow when I flipped the canvas over.

This is a great warm-up idea, too. So, for my second act I painted another cute barnyard couple.

Thank you Nancy for teaching me how to paint (officially) and for inspiring me to keep going!

two chicks

Leave a Reply

