painting from photographs

donuts, 8x10

This week we painted from photos. This painting is largely unfinished, I had a difficult time trying to achieve proper values, so I labored over certain areas for far too long and ended up doing most of the work in the last 10 to 15 minutes of our painting time. I plan to revisit it this one later on.

What’s pretty funny, is that I was the only student in class who did not use a landscape or architectural photo to paint from (haha)! This idea has been in my head for quite a while, as I am quite fond of Wayne Thiebaud‘s work and he is very well know for his paintings of cakes and other sweets.

Next week is my last class, not sure what my next art adventure will be, stay tuned. Here’s a link to the photo I painted from (by Flickr user tinaphan).

2 thoughts on “painting from photographs

  1. donuts revisited: in progress « artrestart

Leave a Reply

